I've exhausted every avenue! Colors won't cooperate.

First, let me say, I hope that I am explaining this right. It's been four days of trying to fix this, and I am at my wits end. 

I work with dual monitors, one on my laptop, and also my external. I am working in PS CC.  I am color calibrated, I use Spyder4 Pro.  I work in sRGB color space (triple checked by the lovelies at adobe, too). I edit sessions on my external monitor. This problem started about a week ago. Before that everything was totally fine, I've been using the same setup for two years, no issues until now.

When I open an image in ACR, the colors are almost over saturated, and vibrant and contrasty. When I click "open" and they open into PS, the colors get more washed out. (see example).  Over the last four days, I have learned that: 

Any image does it, whether it was 4 weeks ago, or 4 days or 4 months.  

If I open any filter (camera raw filter, lens correction, liquify, etc., the preview of the image is again back to bright colors. Once any adjustments are made (if any), the image in photoshop remains less vibrant. So anything I open in a new window or secondary window (whatever the right term is here) inside of photoshop, that image is always brighter and bolder.

If I move photoshop to the laptop monitor, the images appear the same, in both ACR and PS (or the filters, etc).