High School football

nikinic23

Hello,  I am a hobbyist- I have a Canon 70d. I started out taking photos of my son playing football and it has kind of morphed into the informal team photographer. I use Canon 55-250 4-5.6. I rented the 70-200 2.8 but I didn’t notice a big enough difference to make me buy it. I am at the very top of iso at 6400 just to be able to have a semi-ok shutter speed - usually at 200. We are in a small town- so the field and field lighting aren’t great and most of the teams we play are in the same boat. The photos are still pretty under exposed and many are blurry but it’s the best I can do at this point. I started looking into upgrading my camera body, but after some reading it looks like I need to get a full frame which means I would also have to get another lens as mine is EF-S. So this would be a major investment. Any suggestions on bodies that handle high iso well? 

• Like 1

Oh, this is quite a rabbit hole to go down and your wallet will feel pain. LOL! 

There is a reason that sports shooters have a 70-200 on one body and a 600mm f/4 mounted on a Monopod with another body. I’m also pretty sure you aren’t interested in spending $25,000+ :)

I’ve done this very thing and you are right, the 70-200 is a limited focal range when you want to shoot down the other side of the field. It’s great if they are in front of you though. Having a body that performs well in the 6400 - 25,600 ISO range is also key. Football stadium light is crappy light, it’s worse than Gym lighting.

Even though the 55-200 and 70-200 lenses cover he same focal range, there is one key advantage, fixed aperture. Being able to use f/4 or f/2.8 at any focal range can give you one or two stops. Which can help raise that shutter to at least 1/500th. We really want to try and get 1/1000th.  Of course you could have been at f/2.8 and still had crappy light. With variable aperture zooms, as soon as you zoom out you are at f/5.6...period. So that’s the difference.