Camera body upgrade - advice

SRH

I currently have a Rebel XS, and have only really learned how to *really* use it in the last year or do. I'm just a hobbyist, and mostly take pictures of my kid, family, and friends. I wanted to get into astrophotography, but that's not really a priority (and virtually impossible with this body)

The noise in my images even at ISO 400 is ridiculous, and I think after 8 (9?) years it's time for an upgrade and would like to go full frame (is that just overkill?). 

I've been drooling over the 5D III for its low light capabilities, but at $3K (Cdn), I'm hesitant. Is there a better option for low light than the 5D III? (I'm not really interested in th video capabilities)

Ideally, I'd like to hold on to my next camera for a decade or so, just like I have with my current one. 

Any advice is appreciated!

Also, I likely won't be able to actually make the purchase until spring or summer, it that impacts the answer.

Yes, it's time for an upgrade. The 5D MKIII is a fine camera. I highly recommend it. In your case the 6D, is also an option. Fortunately, with the current Nikon announcements (Nikon D5 & D500,) Canon is about to release a few new bodies of their own. So by the time Spring / Summer rolls around, you might have some new choices. :)

In addition, before you take the plunge to Full Frame, we will need to review your current lens line-up. The majority of the time, crop-body-only lenses really cripple a full frame camera and really are not recommended. So if you have any EF-S lenses, they are CROP BODY ONLY lenses. It's the EF lenses that are full frame. So it can be a shock to some that the average cost to switch to Full Frame runs about $4000-$4500, conversationally speaking. (Figure a $3000 FF body and a few prime lenses or a single zoom lens for around $1500 or so.)

So lets talk lenses, tripods, camera releases and then camera bodies. You have plenty of time.

Thanks Jason & Brian!