Lens and lighting

Bex

Hi there

Im a hobbyist photographer, doing some shoots on the side for practice. I love macro and food photography, as well as portraiture. 

Im currently looking at buying a new lens, possibly the 50mm or the 35, mainly for portraits and somewhat for macro if possible in any way.

I also want to get a speedlight for indoor shoots.

I am rather overwhelmed at all of the options available in these products. I currently have the standard 2 lenses that came with my D5100 (18-55 and another zoom lens I cant recall).

As Im not a pro, Im looking for the cheapest, but also best possible quality in the ranges they have.

I have been looking on Amazon as they seem to have the cheapest deals, although I am based in Durban, South Africa.

I would really appreciate any tips and advise on which lens and speedlight to pick.

Thank you

One lens i HIGHLY RECOMMEND is the Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.8G DX lens. It's a fantastic lens for the price-point. In the US, the lens runs just under $200 new. The 50mm f/1.8G lens is decent as well. I'd personally skip the 50mm f/1.4G lens in favor of the 58mm f/1.4G. The 50mm f/1.4G lens gives a lot of people focus problems. That lens had caused more threads in the original Ask Brian Group on FB. I hate that stupid f-ing Nikon 50mm f/1.4G lens. Back-Focus City. (Especially on Nikon D700 bodies) Or just soft focus. For some, the lens worked great, for the other 98% of us out there, the 50mm 1.4G just plain sucked.

As for a Macro lens, you really have a four choices. You could go with the Nikon 40mm DX Macro, but with that focal length, it's really unnecessary. The king of the Macro Lenses in Nikon's world is the 105VR lens. It's expensive, but it's a great lens. The alternative to it is if you purchase the Nikon 60mm Macro lens, it's decent and at a lower price-point. There is also a 85mm DX Macro, but it's a "Meh" lens. I think either the 60mm Macro or 105VR Macro is a better choice. The DX equivalents are "Meh."