Upgrade memory or computer?

Hi Brian!

I am currently using a Mid-2014 MacBook Pro Retina 13". It is an Intel i5 and upgraded to 16gb ram and 512gb SSD.  As a whole I don't seem to have any issues with how it functions (though I'm new to the Adobe programs so maybe that will change?) - but I do feel limited with the 512gb storage. I am considering getting this upgraded to 2 TB, but from very preliminary research it looks like that might cost be $500-$600. Am I better off just getting a new computer - also worth noting, I am very comfortable with windows/PC as well as I use them every day for work, so I could go either way on the Mac vs PC issue if i were to buy new.

Thank you!

This one's a little tough. Why? Because even the new laptops come with small SSD Drives, usually 256GB! The models with 512GB SSD HDs are becoming  a little more common, but they can still be tough to find. 1TB SSD Drives have lowered in price, but with your model, it's the m.2 interface type of SSD, which is expensive, especially a 2TB size.

Right now it really depends on your budget and what you are willing to spend. The US Import Tariffs on China had made all the computers increase in cost from about $300-$500 as compared to the prices from last year. Everything seems to come from China, from whole computers to components, and those Tariff costs are being pushed to the consumers. So today's $700 computers were last year's $400 models, so you really need to read the technical specifications. That $1000 computer might be a low-end model in terms of specs.