Canon 80d v 6d

MandieS

So hubby is coming round to me upgrading, currently have a 600d, which frustrates me with the very low ISO tolerance. I was thinking the 6d but that would mean I only had 2 lenses to begin with until I could afford more. Then tonight I saw a review for the 80d and thought that might be a better option, although I wonder about the ISO? I am only a hobbyist who shoots mainly landscapes and enjoying some pet photography which I guess the extra focal points & faster shooting rate of the 80d might be useful for. Portraits are just odd pics for friends & family. If I got the 80d I could maybe get a flash? Any thoughts/advice welcome please......this camera would have to last a while :D

Before we talk camera bodies, let's talk about what lenses you currently  have now. We also should talk budget. Photography is a slippery slope. LOL! 

Ok so I have the 2 kit ones: efs 18 - 55 & efs 55 - 250, ef the nifty 50 (love), efs 18 - 22 3.5/4.5 (love) & ef 100 macro (non L - love) - am thinking next lens would probably be 24 - 70 & get rid of 18-55. Would love the 70 - 200 'one day'!!!

The "average" cost to switch to full frame, in my humble opinion is around $4000. ANY EF-S lenses you have are really only meant for crop body / APS-C cameras. It's the EF Lenses that are full frame, but it sounds like you know this, since you only mentioned two lenses.

Now, here is where things get a little tricky. Because the Angle of View changes with the smaller crop sensor, your 50mm on your 600D acts more like a 85mm lens would on a full frame body. So in order to get that "look" that you love, you'll need to purchase a 85mm lens. Now here is the kicker, the 85mm f/1.8 suffers from really bad chromatic aberration. (The purple fringes that you see around tree branches against a bright sky.)  A better lens would be the non-macro Canon EF 100mm f/2.0 portrait lens, but you already have a 100mm non-L macro, so that's the same focal length.