Best monitor to get?

siobhankelly

Hi Brian,

I'm hoping you don't have to answer this question constantly - I did search through a little but didn't go back too far as we all know how quickly technology changes!

I'm a macbook pro user - I've had the same machine for years now and it still works a charm. Retina screen, 15 inch. Only thing is I just can't seem to find consistency in my editing - understandable as I'm editing all over the place on a laptop screen.

So I'm looking to invest in a good monitor that I can keep in one place. My questions - am I able to use a non-mac screen with a macbook pro? will it still calibrate okay? (it's one of those versions that still has USB ports so I'm not worried about connection). What's on the market now that you would recommend, with a budget up to about 1K? Happy to spend if a couple hundred dollars makes a decent difference in quality. There seem to be so many different models and I'm not techy enough to know the difference!

Thanks in advance!

Siobhan

1 hour ago, siobhankelly said:

am I able to use a non-mac screen with a macbook pro?

Yes.

will it still calibrate okay?

Yes. But this will depend on your Calibration Device. If it's a few years old, it may not be compatible with current displays. So I'd plan on budgeting for a new one. You don't have to buy one right away, but have the money set aside in case you do. For calibrating two displays, I'd recommend either the SpyderX Elite or the current version of the i1 Display Pro.

What's on the market now that you would recommend, with a budget up to about 1K?

You don't need to go up that high. Around $500 or so should be more than enough, unless you purchase a genuine Apple Display, then you pay a premium.

There seem to be so many different models and I'm not techy enough to know the difference!