Buying a Computer in 2021

Buying a Computer in 2021

It's no secret that 2021 is an extension of the year 2020. We are still dealing with a Global Pandemic, COVID-19, and a Global Shortage of chips that make up components of the various parts of a Desktop / Laptop; really ANY electronic device that you can think of, including Video Game Consoles. Combine that with the fact that the US is still imposing Import Tariffs on various items, especially when it comes to computers and other electronic devices. The majority of people are still working from home if they are able, offices and schools are still closed and the demand for computers is at an all-time-high. Many products are on a 6 month of more back-order, and that's if they are being produced at all.

All of these things combined drive up the prices, and I will say it again: IT IS THE WORST TIME TO BE IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW COMPUTER! Personally, I've never seen it this bad, and I've been playing with computers since 1981! Sure, personal computers in the early 1980's tended to be a bit more expensive than they are today, but that was because the technology was still very new and it was more of a hobbyist's world. Today in the 21st Century, Home Computers and their Smartphone counterparts are commonplace across the board. They have become ubiquitous as owning a Color TV, a Toaster or Refrigerator. Hell, indoor plumbing for a Bathroom was a "New" thing 120+ years ago! :)