Hard drive SMR CMR advice for archiving

Hi Brian, Can I please have some advice to choose between the WD red (WD40EFAX) SMR disks, and the WD red plus (WD40EFZX) CMR disks NAS HDD.  

My aim is to have a portable hard drive mirroring my iMac's internal hard drive always backing up the content, and two identical WD red 4TB NAS mirroring each other as my archival drive's for my small business (large file photos) and family image/video storage.  I'll manually transfer what I want from the portable hard drive to the two mirroring NAS drives for archiving.  

I was recommended the WD40EFAX which seems harder to get here in Aus, but It's the difference between the SMR and CMR confusing me as I'm not that tech savvy ? Thanks! 

Also, can you recommend a reliable portable Hard drive to mirror to my iMac and backs up everything please.  And, with my bigger archival NAS drives, do they have to be running constantly? As I'd probably only save to them once per day when I have the content ready that I want archived.  Thanks again! 

Probably the BEST way to backup your internal Mac HD is to use Time Machine. Hands down, Apple has perfected backing up. 

I will write more later after I study the Red Drives. Personally, I prefer the WD Gold line over the Reds. Keep in mind, that the NAS enclosures such as a Synology NAS (2 or 4 bay) are being made with really cheap plastic which has a tendency to vibrate, a lot. Not that it affects HDs; it’s just loud and is more annoying than anything. 

I do have a few other recommendations and will link to them tonight. Fortunately the store that I link to does ship to OZ. 

Hi Brian, sorry for the late reply.  Attached are the details.  Basically I'd like x2 computer back up hard drives mirroring each other and always automatically backing up.  Plus x2 larger archival drives also mirroring each other, and I can save what I choose manually to it.   Thanks!

C40C41D8-5CDA-44E3-B6F9-94011B11173D.jpeg