Backup / Storage

KimBM

Hi Brian,

Could you please suggest storage for a hobbyist?  I have my images stored across multiple seagate hard drives and I’d like a better more secure solution. 

Thanks 

2K? That's way more than you will need. Even for the fancy stuff. "I'm just a hobbyist" is such a Misnomer. In reality, the only difference between a "Professional" and a "Amateur" is one charges for services, and their images are consistent from shot to shot, regardless of situation. Sure, "Professionals" still blow it from time-to-time, but this is the minority. Honestly, I've seen some really good images, that are at a "Professional" Grade Level, from "Hobbyists." The truth is, you are looking for a few things:

1. Consolidation
  2. A File Organization Structure.
  3. Possibly some sort of redundancy.

Me recommending a larger HD is only part of the equation. Before you buy anything, you need to think about File Management of your images, which are important to you, Hobbyist or not. The trick is getting you a larger HD that has decent build quality. Do you have a Mac or a PC?

I have an old Mac.

My personal photos are important to me.  I had no idea how much I would need to spend so I put my budget as the amount I’ve been saving to upgrade my computer, but figure no point in taking photos if they are lost!

I have a baby so barely have time to edit (previously used Lightroom, but started Damien’s Raw Class).  I shoot almost daily and just transfer to the hard drive when the card is full.  When the family load lessens a bit I will return to the photos.