External hd

I noticed that you recommended the g drives.  I seen you recommended the 6 TB hard drive amd I was curious about the 1 TB ssd.  I get the 6 TB is more memory but are ssds faster and more durable?  Just trying to make a good educated decision on what I should use.  I am a hobbyist with a 1 TB hard drive and I need more space. Should I change over and get multiple ssds or get one bigger hard drive?

If you travel around a lot and throw your external in your bag, then a SSD Drive should be something to consider, since there are no moving parts. Basically, a SSD Drive is a bunch of Flash Memory Chips in a case that resembles a traditional spinning hard drive. The benefits to SSD Drives are the read / write speeds, lower power requirements and no moving parts. The downside is cost for larger capacities AND they have a finite write-times; if the drive is rated for 350TB of Writes, then you get 350TB before the SSD Media wears out. But don't over-stress about this, this issue is minor in the grand scheme of things. When SSD Drives first came out, it was a bigger deal. Now, not-so-much. While 1TB SSD Drives are really affordable now, as soon as you get to the 4TB+ range, you are forking out the money to have those larger capacities.