Understanding the exposure triangle

snelson

I shoot on the Nikon D7200. I have a 35mm sigma art and an 85mm 1.8. I have been shooting for many years and have been doing it wrong. I have watched a complete video to learn my camera inside and out. I have changed my ISO to auto. I have my aperture at 2.8 most times but can never decide the f stop. I know that the more people in the image the more stops I move the aperture if they are not in the same plane of focus. How do I decide the f stop? I know that if my subjects are moving I want to go up to 1/500 and so on. If I'm shooting with say 85mm I want to be at least 1/160. I gave it a try today. It is very cloudy out. I have my auto ISO on, f/stop 1/250 to 1/320 not sure why, and 2.8. My white balance is auto. What am I missing?

You are missing a lot. :)

With Crop Cameras and that Angle of View change, it is WAY more forgiving when it comes to the Wider (or more open) Aperture Settings. You can practically "f/2.8 All the Things." without much thinking. You can't do that on a Full Frame camera and you will need to know your Aperture Values / Reciprocals. There isn't one rule for everything, it's something that you learn as you go. That said, I can give you some guidelines.

Think of your DoF like two invisible walls. One in front of your subject and one behind. The closer you are to your subject and the wider / more open the Aperture, the shallower the Depth of Field, meaning the fuzzy Wall in Front and Behind your subject are closer together. You can really see this in person with a 50mm 1.8 or your 85 1.8. Set your Aperture to 1.8 and photograph something relatively close. Keep in mind that all lenses have a "Minimum Focus Distance" meaning the closer you get, the more the lens will fight you trying to lock on focus until you take a step or two backwards.