Creating/updating backup of photo files

I currently back up my photos only once a year (I can hear you laughing...) in January, by copying my External Hard Drive to a newer larger EHD, which I then use for the rest of the year.  The original EHD becomes my backup. It takes me days, since there are now almost 2 TB, and there are invariably errors that stop the transfer and cause me to have to sort it all out so that the new and the original end up with the exact same number of bytes)  I am not a pro, but am (finally) feeling guilty about the possibility of losing a whole year's worth of work because I don't know a better system...

I have read your all your posts, and don't think I need RAID, and I'm not quite ready to try the cloud.  

Isn't there a way to just run a backup every week or month manually, using two EHDs where only the changed files are saved?  I like the portability of the WD Passports (I take mine on extended vacations), but am open to suggestions.  What hardware and program and/or service would you recommend?

Also, you recently suggested (Nov 2016) that we NOT use a 3TB HD, but a 4TB instead; was that just for RAID applications? 

Thanks in advance!