what lens next?

Renski00

Question

Hi Brian

I have a canon 650D and im at a cross roads because i dont know if i want a bigger chunky FF camera (invest in that) or go another lens that allows me to go wider. I have tamron 24-70 and canon 70-200 F4 and still struggle in small spaces to get wide enough for group shots without sometimes being pressed hard up against a wall.......

I dont know whether to upgrade camera, which i would like to one day, but i love how light my 650 is or for now just get another lens.........i like the fixed F lenses.

Advise on what i should consider?

Im a hobby photographer only taking pics of my family.

TIA

Edited by Renski00

18 answers to this question

If you are going to stay with a crop body, I'd get this one:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/351542-USA

That said, this lens is more of an investment: 

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1051475-USA

The problem with crop bodies and is you lose the "wide," due to the angle of view change. Your 24-70 acts like a 38mm - 112mm lens would on a FF body. Believe it or not, 24mm is "wide," you just need a FF body to take advantage of it. 16mm acts more like 25.6mm on a crop body, after the Angle of View Change 

So two choices: Lens or FF Body.

I personally recommend a 5D Mark III if you were to upgrade. Since size might be an issue, and you might stick with a crop body, the 10-22 is in your future. If you do upgrade to FF, you already have a "Wide" lens, the 24-70. 

Thanks Guys,

I dont think i need a 5d III

How would i benefit from FF? apart from the change in how my lens works............id look at a 6D .......otherwise a 7D or 70D...........but then i still need the wider lens.........i love fixed Aperture so thanks for the tip on the lens

I still want camera to be portable, want the quality in low light.