New iMac Purchase

amyjo415

I currently have a late 2014 iMac 27 inch.  Specs are in the picture.  I am experiencing some issues with it and given I am an accountant, I don't have a time to risk and do a wait and see with it or to even get it in to be fixed (2 day wait and likely have to leave it with them).  So, I am considering upgrading and then will later fix this one and pass it on to my daughter to use.  My original plan had been to upgrade this Fall or next Spring so advancing that plan.  My question is what am I really getting in buying new compared to what I already have?  Faster speed and the larger hard drive alone?  Will it really be noticeably faster?    Is the 3.7 the way to go or will the lower end ones suffice?  If I want to take advantage of military pricing and no tax (buying from AAFES) I am locked into their builds.  Thoughts?  Thanks!

Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 10.36.54 AM.jpg

The new 2019 iMac line that has just been released is A LOT faster than the 2018 models. Even though the specs / speeds look to be similar, there are other factors that are under-the-hood, such as more processor cores, faster video graphic processors, and better / faster Chipsets that control data-flow on the motherboard. (CPU to RAM to HD, etc.)

Since you are primarily doing accounting, you don't need a huge-and-expensive iMac. Whatever you do, skip the 21.5" iMac and stick with the 27" model. The tough part is balancing the options on your iMac and your budget. The biggest speed performance boost that you can do when configuring your iMac, is to choose a SSD Hard Drive. Not a Fusion Drive, but a full SSD Drive. Unfortunately, if I select the base $1799 iMac and configure it with a SSD Drive, that adds $700 to the cost. ($2499.) In my humble opinion, Apple really wants you to "Go Big or Go Home."