Fit photo to a print size for printing. without loss?

Wayne

I recently tried to have a digital photo printed via an online vendor (MPIX) and found that my photo would be chopped off at both ends because it didn't match the proportions of the paper sizes they offer. The photo is 5283 x 3419 pixels. I am a casual photographer; I do not print photos at home, but I do minor editing, which sometimes entails cropping and/or stitching photos to form panoramas.

The ends Mpix would cut off contain people in a wide group photo shot, but they could not print the whole width of the photo on an 8x10, because their equipment always fills the shorter dimension (height in this case). None of their paper sizes allowed full width. That seems ludicrous. I am perfectly willing to cut a mat to cover the borders above and below a print to frame it, if necessary, but I can't accept their truncating a photo.

To me, the obvious way to resolve the mismatch is to digitally add strips above and below the photo to make the pixel count proportions match the frame proportions, then print the 8x10, and cut a mat to mask the added portions (with border additions to both height and width, a mat would not even be needed). Searching the net, I could not find a way to add border strips to my photo.

Surely there is a simpler way to print the entirety of a digital photo with a L x W ratio that doesn't conform to standard paper sizes, what am I overlooking?

I use Windows 10.  The tools I have on my computer, in approx order of usage, are PhotoScape, Paint.net, PhotoImpact 12, and Paintshop Pro X8. To me its not worth the multi-bucks for fancy photo edit programs like Photoshop.