Purchase iMac 27" or laptop and screen?

Hi Brian,

I want to start editing my RAW images but I'm a complete novice who is now ready to purchase some hardware (and software). 

In every store I'm drawn to the 27" iMac but for the AUD3500-4000 I have to spend is this the smartest purchase? Especially if they have new ones coming out later this year? I've used Mac and PC in the past and have no real preference, I just want to organise and edit my photos with the least amount of fuss on a screen that looks sharp. 

I've read up on all the PC specs I need which really helps if I go the laptop path, but I'm stuck on a monitor to go with a laptop. 

Can you please help point me in the right/ best direction? 

Thanks, 

Sue

Mac Laptops are a complete waste of money. In order to get one that "Is good for photo editing," you are spending at least $3499 (US Dollars) which as I type this, works out to be A$4645.14. That's before you buy AppleCare and pay your local taxes. So call it around $5000+ Australian!! Which is an insane amount of money to spend on something that you will get 3-4 years of life out of. The reason is, everything is integrated when it comes to Apple's current products. You can't upgrade things after the fact. Not only laptops, but the new M1 line of Apple's products. So you need to spend Apple's way over-priced upgrades in order to be set for the future.

Yes, you read that correctly, the "average" laptop only lasts about 4 years or so. Why? Because it's the Lithium Ion Battery, that hasn't changed much over the years. Sure they have gotten them to last a bit longer, but the battery itself wears out over time, even if you leave it plugged in all the time. Lithium Ion Batteries have a certain shelf life, then they either die on you unexpectedly or start to swell up and possibly can catch on fire. (Rare, but it happens.)

As you can see, I don't recommend laptops for photo-editing. I never have, but people keep asking and I finally gave up arguing. :)