Using TCs

ChristyB

Hi Brian,

I have a D850 and I recently bought a used Nikon 300mm f/2.8 lens. I had rented this lens a few years ago and loved it, but there's no way I could afford to buy it new. When a local photog was selling his Nikon gear (he was switching to Sony) I dug into my savings and splurged on that lens.

I'm learning how to use it and any out-of-focus photos are definitely operator error. I'm getting some decent photos so I'm getting there. I've never used TCs before. When I add a 1.4x or 2.0x TC to the lens I'm having problems getting good focus with them. I'm not figuring out what I'm doing wrong.

Do you have any thoughts or are there any guidelines to help me learn how to use the TCs?

Thanks!

I forgot to include that I'm shooting wildlife - birds and we have wild horses in our area. It's been bright daylight and I was shooting on shutter speed priority. ISO in the 100-200 range and shutter speed around 1/2000. I lower shutter speed if they're not active.

9 hours ago, ChristyB said:

When I add a 1.4x or 2.0x TC to the lens I'm having problems getting good focus with them. I'm not figuring out what I'm doing wrong.

You aren't doing anything wrong. That's the nature of TCs. :D 

Basically, when you use Teleconverters, your Image Quality takes a hit. Especially when you get to the 2.0TC range. Getting sharp focus also becomes an issue. Unfortunately it takes time and practice and knowing what your gear will and won't do in certain lighting conditions. If you really want those Nat Geo Sharp Photos, you are using $10,000-$15,000 lenses. Nothing beats a true 600mm f/4 vs a 300mm f/2.8 with a 2.0 TC attached.

Not to mention the whole losing a stop of light thing. I'm sure you are well aware, you lose 1-Stop of Light with a 1.4TC and 2-Stops of Light with a 2.0TC. So don't be afraid to crank up your ISO to 400-800. You could also try the D850 in DX mode for an extra umph when using the 1.4TC. Try it, see what happens.