Computer/Mac health - need advice

Jessie A

Hi all,

First time posting in here :)

I know I have an older Mac, but when I had purchased it I had done a lot of upgrades. I am not in the market for a new computer at the moment. I'm not a professional photographer, but I appreciate high quality photographs. Since upgrading to Photoshop 2022, my Adobe software (Bridge, Photoshop) is extremely slow. I am hoping for advice on my system. Or maybe I should go back to an older version of Photoshop?

I have completed the info on my computer health: 

I have a Mac desktop running Mac OS Catalina and Photoshop 2022. It is over 8 years old, and has 16GB of RAM. Its hard drive has 715GB free out of 1000GB. The last time I shut down was more than 2 days ago. I have never run a cleanup program.

Any advice to help Adobe run more smoothly and not take forever is appreciated!

Jessie

A few things that come to mind:

1. Only 16GB of RAM. In 2022, you really want 32GB or more if possible.

2. Files and folders on your Mac Desktop. The more crap you have on your Desktop, the slower the damn thing runs. 

3. It does not matter, internal or external, the MacOS treats all HDs the same. So while you may have 700GB free on your internal drive, the EHD that’s 95% full is bogging your Mac down. You never want to go more than 75%-80% full on any Mac HD, internal or external. 

There are other things, like purchasing a clean up program that I use call CleanMyMac X but more on that later. What year/model/size is your Mac? Hopefully it’s a 27” because if it’s a 21.5”, you are kinda screwed and looking at a new computer.