OS 10.8.5

Ange

Hi Brian Hermans thanks for the Fb post and redirecting me here. I thought I was tech savvy but I am falling really behind, I don't think I really know how to use my mac properly?! Can you please help me? I have an imac running OS X 10.8.5, What update should I be using now? How can i find out what I am running eg OS X Mavericks or OS X Yosemite ect? I can see an application that says to install Install OS X Mavericks which looks like I download in 2014 but never installed.....I am running CS6, LR5 and I have an Adobe CC subscription for PS CC but I don't want to run into any problems. Also I am unable to run LR, Photoshop and have multiple  internet pages open without my mac slowing down to crazy annoying slow pace.

On a side note. Also I tried to update my iphone to ios 10 but itunes says I need to download iTunes 12.5.1 but OS 10.8.5 wont support it!!!

Thanks heaps!

Edited by Ange
  • Like 1

On 9/25/2016 at 1:18 AM, Ange said:

I have an imac running OS X 10.8.5, What update should I be using now?

• 10.6.xx = Mac OS X Snow Leopard
  • 10.7.xx = Mac OS X Lion
  • 10.8.xx = Mac OS X Mountain Lion
  • 10.9.xx = Mac OS X Mavericks
  • 10.10.xx = Mac OS X Yosemite
  • 10.11.xx = Mac OS X El Capitan
  • 10.12.xx = macOS Sierra

So you are running Mountain Lion currently. How do you find out? Head to the Apple Menu in the upper left corner and select, "About this Mac." 

Holy Sh*tballz, you can install Mavericks. You are the first person in a long time that has this ability. OSX Mavericks was the last Mac OS that had the LEAST amount of problems with PS!!! If you can upgrade to Mavericks...DO IT!!!

iTunes 12.5.xx will work fine on OS X Mavericks. PS CS6 and PS CC will work fine on Mavericks. See a theme here? Now, I'm not saying that Mavericks worked for 100% of the people out there, but for the majority that I've come across, including myself who is still on Mavericks...seem to have better results than those on Yosemite or El Capitan.