2024/2025 Desktop Questions

Hi Brian,

I'm getting ready to start editing a higher volume of photos than I'm used to (relatively small scale school photography). I also do some interior photography and headshots/portraits. I'm on a MacBook and HATE it (slow, small, hopeless). If I had found this group sooner, I would have known better. Budget is an issue but so is my sanity, and frankly my ability to complete a job. I read your posts about buying in 2023 and the new Photoshop, but as I'm scrolling through options it looks like those video cards are already updated to newer versions. 

Obviously, I'm here because I'm not tech savvy. I know you said *sometimes* newer isn't better, but I wouldn't know. I'd be so grateful for your specific guidance. I'd like a Windows desktop that I can use primarily for Lightroom/Photoshop/Imagen...maybe some basic video editing in Capcut. Something that will hopefully last a while. And probably a 32ish inch monitor. I have a Calibrite device. I use a Canon R6 MII most of the time.

Is there a world where I can do this under $1500? Or am I going to regret not spending a little more now to have something that will last longer with all these software developments? If I have to keep clicking and waiting forever, it'll just be so disappointing. I do have a 27 inch Dell monitor that I can get by with for a minute if I need to wait on that. I usually like to buy things at Costco if I can...if they have something acceptable? Partly because of the return policy and extended warranty, but also because the limited options help me narrow things down. I'm open to going elsewhere, I just get overwhelmed. 

The person to talked me into the mac just gave awful advice. I would really really appreciate your help. 

15 hours ago, NMH said:

Is there a world where I can do this under $1500?