Own Two Apple Displays - which should be my main for ACR/PS

Hi Brian -

I just have a question regarding which monitor you think I should be using as my "main" monitor for my setup.

I have a 15" Retina Macbook Pro laptop (2014).  I bought this computer before I really started getting into the digital photography world (I am also a musician that enjoys recording in Logic so I bought the laptop to supplement my old 2009 Mac Pro desktop).  I have noticed that sometimes it is very difficult to see sharpness and luminance adjustments on this monitor, but after reading through comments in the RAW class and on this forum, I have concluded that my issue may just be that I have a Retina display.

My other monitor is an Apple Cinema Display (27")... BUT it is the model that existed right before they went to Thunderbolt.  This is not a Retina display.  Uses the Mini Display Port.  So this is a much older monitor (probably 2010'ish - literally bought it right before Thunderbolt came in).  

Both monitors are calibrated to my prints.  So I guess my question is whether to use the newer, but smaller, retina... or the older, but bigger, Apple Cinema Display as my main workhorse in my journey into photography?

I really appreciate your help!

-Kris

Believe it or not, I'm going to recommend that you use the old Apple Cinema Display!

Reasons are as follows:

• It's an External Display. It stays at the same viewing angle until you change it.
  • An External Display stays in the same area. You won't be editing from the couch, in bed, beside the pool, or the kitchen table...each with different color casts and type/quality of light.
  • When you use a laptop, the angle of the display changes each time you open it. This can shift how you see detail in the shadows as well as in highlights.