Card error

Marszphil

So a few weeks ago, I went to format a SD card and it came up reading “may be corrupt”, ok cool, I grabbed another card, formatted and shot not problem. I’ve been doing sessions since and not had any further problems with cards. Tonight, I was finishing up my session, and they wanted on last shot, when “pressing the button”, the camera would not fire and said “card error”. Obviously i panicked and pulled the card, put in another card and still same error. Luckily I always carry a back up camera so I started shooting with it. Finished up session, SPED home, and uploaded card and all the images are there. So my question is .... what is going on ??? any insight?

This card issue seems to be a common Nikon D800 issue, with both the CF & SD Cards being used. SD media seems to suffer from this a bit more than CF. In fact, I've personally had a couple of SD Sandisk Cards go bad and only one or two CF Cards, also Sandisk Extreme cards. I still buy Sandisk Products, and Sony XQD Cards as well.

Here is what comes to mind:

1. If you only have these two SD cards and use them over-and-over-and-over again, eventually they WILL wear out. I personally swap my cards that get heavy usage anywhere between 18-24 months. I also write the Month / Year on each card to let me know when they were first used, which makes rotating the older cards out easier. So if you are the type that shoots 100's of images with each session, and does a lot of sessions, then the cards just might be wearing out. Regardless of brand, Flash Media has a certain lifespan and it just goes bad when it does, usually without warning.