Is this laptop any good?

Hey Brian!

https://www.hp.com/au-en/shop/laptops-tablets/laptop-gaming/omen-by-hp-laptop-16-c0179ax-5s2m0pa.html

im new to photography and starting with buying a laptop to learn how to edit before I buy a fancy camera. 
Is this laptop any good? 
I read the guidelines and from what I could see it hit all the things you should look for. 

thanks!!

No. Missed the mark on a few items. 

Main HD is too small. 

Display is not IPS-based, so you will need to budget for an external display and a calibration device that will calibrate both your laptop and external display  

IPS Displays are a Pain in the Ass to find on a laptop, so it will take some searching. I’d also increase your budget ;). $2400 is probably a better starting point  

On 7/28/2022 at 2:42 AM, KateMac said:

So I’m looking for a laptop with 1Tb or more for main hard drive?

Yes.

The reason is, you do not have the full 500GB (or whatever) to use. Some will be lost during formatting / partitioning. Why? Because Microsoft says 1024MB is 1GB and the HD Manufacturers say 1000MB is 1GB. Or 1024GB is 1TB / 1000GB is 1TB, pick your poison. Then there is the chunk taken up by Windows. Then the 7GB that's reserved just for Windows Updates. Not to mention all the Bloatware that the Manufacturers install, and HP computers have a lot of it.

There is a method to my madness. A 250GB - 500GB HD is meant for General Computing, not Photoshop work. If you get a HD that small, I guarantee you within a short time, you'll be posting in here asking why Photoshop is complaining about the Scratch Disk, etc. Since practically all laptops these days are "Sealed Units," upgrading / replacing the HD isn't as straightforward as it once was. Way back when, you could create a set of bootable media, and had an access panel on the bottom, so it was easy to swap out the HD. Manufacturers want you in the market sooner rather than later, so the old way of thinking doesn't apply.