PC and MAC Fonts

Cindy

Brian I tried putting this in the land of the misfit toys as it doesn't really fit anywhere.   

I have been making templates and after scores and scores of searches and help from other graphic designers I was given a list of the "shared common" fonts between a PC and a MAC (see below).   I've have testers on both OS systems state that there is a issue with most fonts.   Then I was kind of attacked stating that the list is untrue and I need to further investigate and have done so with exactly the same results.    Can you shed some light on this for me.   I hate being called out on something after over a year of investigating this.   Just a side note when I do use "free fonts in my templates" I always give the font name when sharing them.  

Capture 1.JPG

Capture 2.JPG

I'm not a graphic designer, though I have friends that are.

This is one of the main reasons why places will be strictly "Mac Only" or "Windows Only." Usually in the Graphic-Arts world, Macintosh is still highly favored, which will aggravate Damien. ;)

When you go back and forth between the two worlds, it's not 100%. The way you combat this is to use Open Type Fonts (OTF) instead of True Type Fonts (TTF.) (Type 1 or Type 2). If you just use the standard "Arial" or whatever, they will look different; Arial on a Windows computer doesn't look 100% identical on a Mac. Or vice-versa. 

Now my knowledge is pretty limited in this regard, so Google (and purchase) OTF Fonts to work with and I think you will have much better results cross-platform.

• Like 1

One more thing, you will need to find a source that will allow  you to license the fonts so you can bundle them with your templates or whatever. More than likely, you can't "give" them away or "sell" them without some sort of permission. Unless they are Public Domain.