New Asus ROG laptop, greys are AWOL

I bought a new Asus ROG laptop in May. I confess that I did not calibrate it right away. But the images looked good and matched the prints. Recently, I noticed that the greys were, well, missing. When I bring up, say, Google Maps (and this is not at all limited to Google Maps) I can no longer see the profiles of the buildings. The maps is mostly white. I connected an external (IPS) monitor, and the monitor showed the normal image. If I take a screen shot and copy it to another computer, the other computer shows the normal image. So I'm pretty sure its not a device driver problem. I think something happened to the display hardware itself.  As a computer architect myself, I cannot imagine what combination of hardware issue would cause this problem.

I have attached an iphone photo of the side-by-side comparison of the laptop display (left) and the external monitor (right). I have also attached the results of a calibration using the i1 Display Pro. When I ran the Windows calibration tool, just for fun, the first step is to set the gamma; there is that circle pattern where you make the center dots disappear. I can't get them to disappear.

Before I ship the laptop back to Asus,  I though I would post this just in case there is some trick I'm missing. Thanks.

2019-08-10 10.16.47.jpg

calibration 2019-08-11.jpg

No. I noticed it, and then ran calibration to see if it could be corrected. What you see is after calibration.

I have run calibration many times on other computers following your instructions, so I'm pretty sure I did the calibration correctly. Does the graph look funny to you? The slope is off.