Using Bridge and an external drive

Jodie99

Hi Brian 

I have been doing photography for a few years and stupidly (because I didn't know) saved all my photos to my Macs internal drive. My Mac has slowed down and I realise I need to store my photos on an external drive. I use Bridge to view my images and camera raw and photoshop. Would it be possible to get some information on transferring the images I have to an external hard drive and how to set it all up? I do have one external drive already that runs time machine. Does Bridge work with an external drive? 

Many Thanks 

Jodie 

Thank-You! While I have been looking for instructions on how to transfer photos from my internal drive to an external one. I came across a few articles with people saying they had trouble with Bridge not recognising the external drive. 

Do not store any of your images on the TM Drive. Leave it alone as its sole-purpose is for Time Machine Backups.

Also, when you do get another external drive, make sure you un-check it from being backed up in Time Machine.

Configuring a EHD to work with your Mac is pretty straightforward. The main issue is that the MacOS isn't configured by default to display the EHD on the Desktop. All you have to do is turn this feature on and then you work with the EHD just as you would your internal. In the next comment, I will give you instructions on how to turn on this feature.

1. Open the Finder:

Screen Shot 2020-08-17 at 9.44.02 AM.png

2. Then select the Finder Menu next to the Apple Menu and select Preferences:

Screen Shot 2020-08-17 at 9.41.39 AM.png
  3. From there the following Pop-Up Box should appear:
    Screen Shot 2020-08-17 at 9.41.50 AM.png

4. All you have to do is put a check-mark next to Hard Disks, External Disks, CDs, DVDs, and iPods. Click the Red Circle at the top left corner to save the changes.

5. Now when you view your Mac Desktop, those items will appear when they are mounted: