ASUS 15.6 GL552VW for editing

Hi there

There's a possibility that I may be in the lucky position to upgrade my laptop soon.  I've always wanted an imac.  Why?  Probably because so many people rave about them and for no other reason.  I have an ipad and an iphone and I love the clarity that the screen gives.  I have never used an imac before so this makes me unsure - I'm just getting to grips with everything photography, I don't want to learn a new way of using a computer too.  I've just read another thread about pc recommendations and I see that you have suggested the ASUS as above.  The ips screen feature - does this mean that the screen can be tilted to any angle and it will give consistent viewing results?  I know on my current laptop that if I have it tilted away from me while editing everything looks dark and saturated and when I view it on my ipad it's invariably less saturated and dull.  I know it's not recommended to edit on a laptop but that's what I use so if this is what this ips feature offers then I'm going to look into getting one of those

Thank you

52 minutes ago, Jackie Matthews said:

The ips screen feature - does this mean that the screen can be tilted to any angle and it will give consistent viewing results?

That's correct.

I have the very ASUS laptop that Brian recommends (well, a slightly older version) and the screen is very good, for a laptop.

However, if you want the very best in screen options, don't go for a laptop or a Mac.  Desktop screens are the way to go (you can plug one into a laptop, of course).

IPS screens give better viewing angles and are more consistent color wise from edge to edge. 

But you still have the angle problem that you are describing. That's why I don't recommend laptops for photo-editing. But people are so damn determined to use a laptop, and I've given up trying to persuade people...it's a waste of time and energy.